Just One of the Girls

5 Sep

This morning I was reading about the MO transsexual teen, Lila Perry, who insisted on using the girls’ locker room. After inaction from the school, the girls staged a walk-out. Although there is a separate dressing room that “she” may use, “she” feels like “she” would be discriminated against, and the district agrees.

Let me just say that when I was in HS, I was embarrassed to change in front of girls. While I will run around half-naked in front of anyone these days (due to theatre), back then I was very insecure about being in my unders in front of others. I truly cannot imagine if a boy had been dressing in my presence in HS.

Why is it that a school district will accommodate one individual, and persecute the majority? This got me thinking about an 80’s movie called Just One of the Guys. This is an awfully funny show about a girl who poses as a boy because she thinks her article wasn’t chosen because of her sex. I watched the show tonight, and you really get a glimpse of her discomfort being around half-naked boys in the dressing room.

For many of us, dressing in front of others is uncomfortable, and dressing in front of the opposite sex is unfathomable. As free as I am these days, I still have my “uncomfortable” zones. This one show I did, this actor brought her husband in the dressing room. The problem was that I wasn’t wearing unders. There was no way I was gonna let this boy see my quoi, so I dressed in the bathroom.

Personally, I think if you’ve got a penis, you should dress with fellow penises, or in private if you feel like you’re a girl. Feeling like a girl, but having a penis makes a big difference. Just as Lila is uncomfortable dressing in front of boys, “she” should understand that real girls will feel uncomfortable dressing in front of “her”.

Leave a Reply

